Ten Years Gone. But Then Again, Meditation and I

March 31, 2009

Most people would agree that life is complex – a beautiful maze that never has a direct path, but surely “rivers always reach the sea” (Led Zeppelin, Ten Years Gone). This complexity of our present day is especially evident with the economic crisis, wars overseas, increasing poverty rates, etc.

I am a person who tries to make life as simple as possible. If you sneak a peak into my room, you will see at least 20 pictures of nature or paintings bursting with earthy colors. As I take a look at these pictures – I center myself. I realize that behind the complexity of life there is a location of peace and meditation.

I think that meditation could benefit anyone who gets too caught up. Stop for a second. Go into a room where there is as little noise as possible. Then close your eyes. Can you believe how loud your mind is?

I’ve always like this idea of the “brain” because it is graspable. But the mind is a whole other story that I cannot figure out. OTHER people or experts may have this answer, but I choose to find my own answer.

I am not asking anyone who reads this blog entry to meditate. But I found an article in Times Magazine titled Mind Over Chocolate by Alana B. Elias Kornfeld. It describes how food has been embedded with meditative cues. Products have been infused with hints toward meditation, prayer (not in the traditional sense), and even music!

For example, there is intentional chocolate that contains a box of six raspberry triangles with monks’ meditations imbued within. A Californian company called H20m has words, colors and symbols on the labels that have wishes for joy, health, love and appreciation for everything that is around us. The idea of subconsciously alluding to meditation in foods and drinks is not a new idea – cultures, like Navajo, have been doing it for centuries. It’s just that the U.S. and Canada have been catching on.

“We hear you rolling your eyes”, says Kornfeld. But you can actually alter the physical world that encompasses you through your mind. It starts with reflection and conscious-awareness.

We still can’t shake the reality that there are Ten Years Gone, but I shall end this entry with giving you my own definition of meditation. It is a place in the mind where you can enter to become detached from the world temporarily, only to come back feeling like a newborn.

7 Responses to “Ten Years Gone. But Then Again, Meditation and I”

  1. thebeerphilosopher said

    I’m sorry, I just can’t resist…

    “For example, there is intentional chocolate…”

    As opposed to all those accidental chocolates.

    Seriously, though, who wants to feel like a newborn? It is the complexity of life that makes people interesting. To be a newborn is to live independent of the wonderful and terrible experiences that define us as living, feeling human beings. To be a newborn is to live a life without understanding of the world around us, or at best to live with unchallenged ideals. And really, if what good are ideals if they go unchallenged? If you want life to be one big keynote speech, that’s fine.

    Me? I’d rather ruffle feathers.

    • thresholdlurker said

      “I didn’t mean that chocolate!”

      Seem I think I can understand both sides of this. There is a time for both views. There is a time to absorb as a newborn does, questioning nothing and simply letting the universe filter into you. There is also a time to challenge everything, every thought, every ideology, every leaf on every tree. I think there are many other states as well, but that is a subject for another time.

      While there is great value to the newborn state, I think that to remain in that form is a mistake, for if you do nothing with what you gain from it, it is wasted. You must act for there to be any meaning to what you learn.

    • guswinn said

      I guess my word choice didn’t suite your fancy. I meant newborn as being in a “renewed” state. And also.. I appreciate the complexity of life and the simplicity. There simply needs to be a balance.

      • thebeerphilosopher said

        “I guess my word choice didn’t suite your fancy.”

        I really hope that was a pun.

        Being renewed and being reborn are the same thing, aren’t they? I can’t find any semantic differences between the two. And we’re not talking about living a complex vs. simple life; no one leads a life that is strictly either. What we’re talking about is the idea that to say that you are renewed or newborn is to willfully discard (or, rather, attempt to discard) all of the difficult life experiences that determine your personality.

        Look, maybe meditation works for you to destress after a long day, or to relax, or to emphasize a particularly serene moment in your day-to-day life. But if you meditate to become reborn, to hit the reset button on life and start over… well, I think there’s something wrong with that.

      • guswinn said

        You have your opinion just as I have the right to mine. 🙂

  2. Palm Tree said

    i think that the original author has hit upon a great point here. I have spent a great deal of time learning meditations in my life and have used them with great effect. I can see in my behavior when i have been practicing regularly and when i haven’t. Meditation is great for feeling renewed, but i think that what many don’t understand is that coming from that place of renewal it is much easier to approach a new challange from a place of balance. Such a balance allows for a more impartial view of problems. In other words if i’m understanding the author correctly, it isn’t hiding from the world forever that is being suggested but a temporary retreat that will better help us to meet life’s challanges.

Leave a Reply

