College: The Most Expensive Party You’ll Ever Attend

April 6, 2009

Although I am a diehard country music fan, I occasionally get trapped in a situation where I am forced to listen to a radio station that isn’t exactly playing Kenny Chesney’s greatest hits. Don’t get me wrong here, this entry is not going to blabber on attempting to turn you into a cowboy wannabe. I’m simply saying I rarely tune into Jammin’ 94.5 or the like, so I am rarely exposed to any other type of music. Over the weekend I visited my boyfriend, and let’s just say we didn’t exactly meet at a country western club. So while flipping through his Ipod, I came across a song titled “I Love College” by Asher Roth. Having never heard the song before I decided that, because I do in fact love college, I should give the song a listen. About a minute into the lyrics, I realized that this song isn’t quite expressing the reasons that I love college…

I’m not entirely sure what college this person attended, but I find it hard to believe that anyone really does this. I mean, I’m not saying people don’t go to parties and have a good time, and yes, there might have been that one party that was totally crazy, but these are not everyday occurrences. I may be alone in this feeling, but I feel like this song is demeaning the whole college experience. What shocked me more was when, after hearing the song for the first time, my 13 year old cousin informed me that she couldn’t wait to go to college so she could attend parties like this. Is this what we are exposing our youth to? Are we telling them that it doesn’t matter what they want to be when they grow up as long as they get into a good party school? Is it media like this song that sets up so many incoming freshman for failure, because they spend too much time partying and not enough time doing work?

This song, as well as many movies and TV shows, portrays the college experience as one long party. Although I am not denying that there are many parties along the way, college students do have SOME responsibility. This party-enriched media is sending the message that if you aren’t spending your time drinking and getting high, you must be a loser. Roth clearly expresses his take on the college education in the lines “I can’t tell you what I learned from school but, I could tell you a story or two, um, Yeah, of course I learned some rules, Like don’t pass out with your shoes on”. In these lines, Roth expresses that the education that students are paying huge amounts of money for is worthless compared to getting drunk. The song goes on to imply that the singer is drunk all week, rarely goes to class and that this is the “cool” thing to do.

You may think that I’m being a little bit of a prude here, and you may be saying “it’s just a song…” but to me, college is a privilege. It is my honor to be allowed to receive this education, and I find it very upsetting that so many students are just in it for the party. Don’t get me wrong, there’s nothing wrong with knocking back a few beers with some good friends, but there is a time and a place for it. I find it a little worrisome that future generations are looking to media such as this for their impressions on such a valuable thing such as a college education.  Maybe I should just stick to the country music…

4 Responses to “College: The Most Expensive Party You’ll Ever Attend”

  1. modernpiracy said

    “there’s nothing wrong with knocking back a few beers with some good friends, but there is a time and a place for it…”
    … and that place is called College!

    I am not in support of the party-go-lucky college culture that has dominated our notion of higher education, but I do believe that some people have to learn the hard way. Perhaps that’s even what Asher Roth was suggesting by his lyrics, if we take them as irony, which is typical of rap (and other music’s) lyrics.

    As someone who had to leave UMass Amherst because I wasn’t able to balance social life and class work (a euphemism for skipping class and partying), I find Framingham State extremely tame. As it should happen, I know a friend of mine left FSC because she proclaimed it was too much of a party school. The result: college is what you make it. Those students who sincerely appreciate getting an education, to say nothing of the money they or their parents spend on it, will not be deterred. Others who want to party and live irresponsible will. Some, myself included, just have to learn lessons the hard way.

  2. thebeerphilosopher said

    Lenny, you and I may not agree on much, but tonight I raise my glass of whiskey (Bulleit bourbon + rocks = delicious) to you.

    Few things, though: pick up the latest issue of Rolling Stone. Asher Roth has a full page in there, and as it turns out, he really DOES live like that. I don’t believe, however, that he’s currently enrolled in college.

    Second, there aren’t many college kids who act like that. Studies show that as few as 25% of college kids have ever drank so much they passed out. Which means that 75% of college kids never do. 80% haven’t had more than 5 drinks in a single day in the past week.

    As for Asher Roth, the French have a word for guys like him:

    Douchebag.

    • lenny25 said

      I am not at all being sarcastic in the slightest when I say that the quality of my night (or morning as the case may be) just increased having read your comment. It is an honor to be toasted by such a fantastic beverage.
      However,
      Its not whether or not students really live like that, its that prospective students expect to that truly bothers me. Instead of being excited to learn and prepare for a career, these kids are excited to get hammered and make fools of themselves. Not cool.

      As for Asher, I’m sure his lifestyle will eventually get the best of him, and when he is in rehab, I’ll be successfully fulfilling my career goals.

Leave a Reply

