In the Sand, Right Down the Middle of the House With White Tape, However

April 9, 2009

Just about everybody’s got an opinion on genetic manipulation and its corollary topics, and most debates always seem to boil down to one key phrase: “But where do you draw the line?”

I don’t know where that line is, but can we all agree that it’s well before this?

Now, in the interest of full disclosure, let me make it clear that I am not a parent, and I have never had to experience the pain of losing my child and thus I lack a credible understanding of the mindset of the mourning parent. That said, what does it say about us that, soon after learning of her son’s death, a mother thinks “We gotta get that sperm!” and would then have the energy to fight all the red tape involved in such an unusual act and get it done. Honestly, though, as startling as all that is, I still find it to be one of the less disturbing parts of this story.

Ms. Evans stated her own desire for grandchildren, and also claimed to be acting on her son’s wish to have children. Was it also her son’s wish, though, to have young Hunter born without a father? Isn’t actually being a father and participating in the child-rearing process the real draw of parenthood? Don’t even get me started on the joys of the actual conception of the child. Mr. Evan’s participation in the birth of his child, should a surrogate mother be found, consists entirely of not rising from the dead by some kind of virus which has the ability to reanimate a corpse into a lifeless killing machine. He was not even giving the pleasure of depositing his half of the DNA into a specimen cup. If Hunter comes to be, then Mr. Evans will set a record for being a deadbeat parent. It is not possible to do less for your child. The man was not even breathing when they extracted his sperm.

To say that Marissa Evans is in an unenviable position would be an understatement. She is forced to deal with the tragic loss of a son cut down before his prime. I can only hope that she’ll eventually come to the conclusion that making a child from sperm taken from the deceased is not an appropriate way to honor the life of her child.

One Response to “In the Sand, Right Down the Middle of the House With White Tape, However”

  1. thebeerphilosopher said

    Hoo boy… people is messed up.

    I can’t for the life of me imagine a situation where I would look my mother in the eye and say, “Mom, if I die, I want you to stick a needle in my balls.”

Leave a Reply

