The Power of the “News”

April 15, 2009

So while I was at the gym today, running on the treadmill I needed to find something to watch. While I was flipping through the channels I landed On E! (you know, Entertainment television). As I was watching the daily news show that they have on the channel, E News, I couldn’t believe people actually watch this stuff. I mean come on now…what has happened to the world? I can remember watching Tv with my dad years ago and he would just turn off the Tv saying “there’s nothing but crap on Tv these days. I can’t take it.” He would then walk away mad. I had no clue what he was talking about, I thought there were some great shows on, but what did I know?
As I was watching this show, I was wondering to myself when did this obsession of celebrities and people in the media start? Are we so bored with our own lives that we have to focus on someone else’s? The first story on the “news” today were that Madonna is not able to adopt her next child, but the newscaster believes that she will be determined to get what she wants, because she is Madonna after all. Come on. Are you serious? Are you proud to know that you went to college to report on stories about celebrities? I’m sorry, I’m glad that you have a job and everything but it’s a little pathetic. The second story on the news today was about Mel Gibson’s divorce. Oh was I thrilled to hear about how unhappy he is now. The stories kept getting worse and worse.
Next on the agenda for this program was a story on weight loss. They were now focusing on the television show “The Biggest Loser” They went into detail on how unhappy they were before, and how much happier they are now. It seems to me that these people feel better now because they are accepted by society because they are smaller. They should be feeling better because their heath is now better, but our society has become so caught up in appearance that it has become an important part of life to some. I could not imagine what it is like to be a celebrity during these times with these types of pressures. Not only do you feel you have to look and act perfect, you are being followed around by people trying to find you in that moment when you aren’t perfect.
It’s just sad to me to think about it. Are our lives so pathetic and boring that we have to focus on others? You can’t go to a grocery store without seeing what the latest gossip is on the cover of magazines. You can try and avoid it, but it really is everywhere. I know “sex sells” but it’s just getting out of control.

3 Responses to “The Power of the “News””

  1. anonymous said

    I think that you could compare this obsession with celebrities to reading escapist novels. Some people like to read romance novels with sexy, lonely cowboys. Some people like to watch television programs about the rich and famous. Every person is different. If you don’t like it, watch something else. Or don’t watch anything.

  2. Notelrac said

    It’s cognitive surplus, a way for people to kill time. See http://www.shirky.com/herecomeseverybody/2008/04/looking-for-the-mouse.html

    “And I said, “No one who works in TV gets to ask that question. You know where the time comes from. It comes from the cognitive surplus you’ve been masking for 50 years.””

  3. Palm Tree said

    One thing that strikes me as important about this blog post is the idea that we have more important things to focus on. What you focus on in your life is what defines your life and by extension, the human race as a collective.

Leave a Reply

