Earth Day…naht

April 22, 2009

In all serious, what the hell is Earth Day? According to several online dictionaries it’s a random day where we are supposed to be aware and appreciate the Earth’s environment. Is this to say that the only acceptable day to respect our planet is on April 22nd? Am I to assume that there is no other day that it is suitable to plant a tree or turn the lights off behind me? I find this holiday (and I use the term holiday incredibly loosely) to be contradictory to everything it supposedly stands for. To make Earth Day one specific day is to invite people to only look after the health of our planet once a year. Should we not be striving to encourage people to appreciate the Earth all 365 days a year? After all, there isn’t a lot that can get done in one single day. Wouldn’t it take longer than that to properly take care of the Earth’s environment? Sure, it’s great to have a day dedicated to getting outside and doing some spring cleaning…but I think it should be encouraged more than once a year.

I’m not saying that we shouldn’t encourage respecting our planet, but by dedicating a day to it, we are actually making it less important. Similarly, I disapprove of Mother’s day and Father’s day and all the rest of the hallmark holidays. We shouldn’t need a specific day to honor these figures. By creating a specific day, you’re giving people an excuse to forget about it the other 364 days in a year. A person thinks they don’t need to bring their mother that flower because it’s not Mother’s day, they don’t need to tell their father they look up to him because it’s not Father’s day. They don’t need to plant that tree or turn those lights off because it’s not Earth Day. I think we seriously need to rethink these so called holidays. Maybe they are doing more damage than they are good…

5 Responses to “Earth Day…naht”

  1. thebeerphilosopher said

    Sure. But if we got rid of Earth Day, then I wouldn’t be able to throw my cigarette butts out the window and say, “Eh, I’ll pick it up on Earth Day.”

    Which reminds me, I have some work to do.

  2. bostongrl said

    I would have to agree with you. They are making holidays for everything now, and in all honesty we should just be respecting the earth everyday, not just one. “Holidays” really arent holidays anymore. They are just a day that has a title. If I didnt read this entry I dont think I would have known it was earth day. I am sure that this holidays are going to become more and more ridiculous as time goes on. Just part of the world we are living in.

  3. Notelrac said

    Ask any parent in the universe the following question, and you’ll get the same answer.

    “How come there’s a Mother’s Day, and a Father’s Day, but there isn’t a Children’s Day?”

    • thebeerphilosopher said

      To clarify, that response is, “Because EVERY day is Children’s Day.”

      (Remember, Notelrac, that we’re dealing with uber-liberal sophomoric college students who are probably abortion-happy future welfare abusers and who have no concept of the intricacies of parenting whatsoever, right?)

  4. thresholdlurker said

    Earth Day isn’t exactly breaking news, I fear. It’s been around since 1970 and is pretty much an accepted idea. Hell, John Denver wrote a song about the holiday (which, incidentally, encourages people to consider every day Earth Day). You’re not going to escape it and I’m not sure why you’d bother.

    It’s not exactly a big holiday, really, it’s just a day about learning about and helping the environment. It gets people thinking actively and maybe makes some negligent folks pay attention. Nothing really wrong with that, as far as I’m concerned.

Leave a Reply

