Porcelina of the Vast Oceans

April 24, 2009

Do you remember the Smashing Pumpkins? (“Of course!” – well, at least that’s what I hope the response would be). It was my band of the ‘90’s, and it still is my band. There is this song called Porcelina of the Vast Oceans (off of the album Melancholy and the Infinite Sadness) and it is absolutely one of my favorite songs ever. It has a perfect mixture of rock and roll with beautifully melodic and soothing undertones.

I do suggest taking about 8 and a half minutes away from your time to listen to this whole song, whether or not you are a fan, or even if you have never heard of the Smashing Pumpkins.

In terms of style, the song lyrics are highly ornamented. Here is a little blurb of the song lyrics:

“As far as you take me, that’s where I believe
The realm of soft delusions, floating on the leaves
On a distant shoreline, she waves her arms to me
As all the thought police, are closing in for sleep
The dilly dally, of my bright lit stay
The steam of my misfortunes
Has given me the power to be afraid
And in my mind I’m everyone
And in my mind
Without a care in this whole world
Without a care in this life
It’s what you take that makes it right
Porcelina of the oceans blue”

The following is me trying to take the same song lyrics and strip them down from their ornamentation into plain style. If you wish to, please let me know if you think the meaning remains the same.

I personally think that the song is about the initial feeling we get when we are all about to fall asleep and what we experience, with a girl named Porcelina (who represents “the daytime”) that the lyricist is waving good bye to.

So here it is:

I’ll believe in where you take me.
As I fall asleep I start to experience things I wouldn’t normally experience.
Porcelina waves good bye to me as I start to fall asleep.
All of my thoughts are slowly leaving me now.
The daylight is bright but as I begin to fall asleep,
I am losing touch, which can make me afraid.
In my mind, I’m everyone and everywhere
I don’t have a care in the world when I’m about to leave the day.
Porcelina of the oceans blue.

One Response to “Porcelina of the Vast Oceans”

  1. Notelrac said

    My favorite “I don’t understand the lyrics, but I know what I like” song dealing with the boundary between waking and sleeping is Phish, “Bouncing Around the Room.” Available at http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EfdcHOtAxhY .

    the woman was a dream I had
    though rather hard to keep
    for when my eyes were watching hers, they closed, and I was still asleep

    for when my hand was holding hers
    she whispered words and I awoke

    and faintly bouncing round the room
    the echo of whomever spoke…

Leave a Reply

