Don’t Worry; Life’s Too Short

April 25, 2009

I have this fear of being boring. You see, while I have the most loving, caring parents in the whole world whom I love very, very much, when it comes right down to it, I was raised by the television. So over the years, especially throughout high school and college, I can honestly say that I’m rather jealous of a lot of people. People who have talents and certain knowledges and fun little, quirky hobbies. I sit in my room and read. Or play videos games. That’s it, basically.

Oftentimes, however, I run into certain urges, usually when I’m with my best friend, although sometimes when I’m alone. During these instances, I develop an acute need for spontaneity. So I’ll walk back to my home from Stop-and-Shop with one of its grocery carts, or randomly pierce my ear with a sewing needle, or ask the manager of Papa Gino’s for his autograph, because every time me and my best friend go in there, he greets us with the warmest “Hello, how can I help you today?”

Being stupid helps me feel like I’m unique. But I don’t think I’m being stupid. I just think I’m having fun. It isn’t hurting anyone, (except maybe myself; I suggest using lots of ice if you’re going to pierce your body. Ouch). But there are some people who would find these antics idiotic and annoying. I wouldn’t mind as much, but these people are supposed to be my friends, and when I tell them that I just read this amazing book about the human hand and its development throughout the ages, they look at me and call me a bore with nothing better to do. Yet, when I break out of my shell and pierce my ear, simply because I wanted to, they call me crazy.

Some advice that I’ve been giving myself for some time now: don’t live for others. Live for yourself, and those select few who truly care about you, the real you. Do not trust those who try to change you. I do the things I do because I want to do them; because I’m afraid of being boring to myself. I’m not afraid to die, but to live a life of regret.

5 Responses to “Don’t Worry; Life’s Too Short”

  1. Notelrac said

    If people are dissing you for having read a non-fiction book, that says detrimental things about them and not you. (Well, maybe there’s a tiny bit of blame for you for calling them “friends”.) Go ahead and find a different class of people to associate with. That’s one of the major points of a college education.

    I consider primitive art weird, but then I’m old fashioned. However, I would put swiping a shopping cart in the “stupid” category. Not to mention that it does cause harm; it raises everyone’s food prices, inconveniences the store, and will probably lead to it getting dumped into a gully or stream.

    • donata426 said

      Haha, sorry about that! I was so enraged when I wrote that post, I failed to keep some key points in there. For example, being the complete nerd that I am, I felt bad that I took the shopping cart, so the next time me and my friend went back to the store, we … um, returned it. Once I like reckless fun, but not at the expense of others. Poor, poor tax payers…

  2. Palm Tree said

    One thing that i have learned over the years is that no matter what you are doing, there will always be at least one person that thinks it was a horrible idea.

    My only suggestion is that you act in a way that represents who you really want to be. Once you are doing that, it matters very little what anyone else thinks.

Leave a Reply

