Stop Reading a Book by Its Cover

April 27, 2009

So I am really fascinated with this woman that was just discovered on Britain’s Got Talent. At first when I saw the clip, I thought it was a joke just because I didn’t think that she was actually singing. Actually I didn’t even know if it was a she at that point (I know, I’m a horrible person). She is a singing sensation from Scotland with an interesting look about her. Her hair is actually a large part of why she has gained so much attention. At almost 48 years old she went on this show to fulfill a dream that she always had, to become a professional singer. The judges didn’t know what to expect when they saw her some on the stage and neither did I to tell you the truth. She opened her mouth and started singing, and it was amazing. After she was done performing the judges had tears in their eyes, and Simon was speechless.

There’s more to it than just some woman doing an amazing job on a television show, it was a wakeup call to a lot of people, including me. In the society we live in today, focused on looks, weight, and wealth, people have just become accustomed to focusing on those things and judging a person with their first impression. That is exactly what happened to this woman when she stepped on stage. The audience laughed at her looks, and even I had to do a double take because I was judging on a first impression basis as well. She was a great talent and no one thought that for one second when they saw her. I just think that something needs to change drastically. She put herself out there, knowing that she was probably going to be laughed at. Even the show was designed to make it seem like she was going to be horrible before she started performing.
This woman really does show that you have to look beyond appearance, and that is something that this society needs to really work on. Stop reading a book by its cover and I think that a lot of people will feel more comfortable about themselves. This woman had a confidence about her that was hidden in a way, but she knew that she was a good singer and surprised everyone in the end. People need to find their inner confidence like she has, and I have a feeling people will be happier and it will be a different world we live in.

4 Responses to “Stop Reading a Book by Its Cover”

  1. Anonymous said

    Wait, so Susan Boyle can actually sing? I never bothered watching any of the videos because I thought it was another William Hung thing and, really, once you’ve seen that once that’s all you’ll ever need.

    All seriousness, though, if you’re going to be on TV you should try to at least look presentable.

    • Notelrac said

      All seriousness, though… I think you missed the point the blogger was trying to make.

      • theundefeatedrookiesensation said

        I don’t think my sarcasm made it through the internet there. I was just having a little fun with her point.

  2. thebeerphilosopher said

    Susan Boyle did look presentable. She’s ugly as sin, but she was wearing her Sunday best, smiling (though I wished she would stop), and with an otherwise pleasant demeanor.

    And man, that lady has PIPES. Les Mis never sounded so good.

Leave a Reply

