Wall to Wall Maddness

April 29, 2009

In 2005, I had never even heard of Facebook. A few of my friends had a MySpace account, but I didn’t really get what that was all about. Today, I probably checked my Facebook at least ten times. I can’t help it, it’s just a habit that I’m in. Whenever I sit down at my computer, I check my Facebook, my e-mail and Redsox.com. Even when I sit down at my computer with some specific purpose, like looking up a movie time or Googling a fact, I often find myself going through my routine first.

So believe me when I say, I am NOT against Facebook. I love the damn thing. I think it’s a great way to share things like pictures and get word out about events in and around your community or school. However, I often find myself question this whole wall to wall thing. Why are these things so public? Why does my homepage inform me every time two people talk to each other? Yes, Facebook is a great and easy way to stay in touch with friends all over the place, but couldn’t the Wall be more of a private inbox kind of thing? If you changed nothing else, but simply made it so only the account holder could view the wall, I think Facebook would be absolutely ideal.

I just don’t see the reasoning behind having the wall be public. What’s the point? Why should other people care what others are writing on any one person’s wall? I just find the whole idea a little sketchy. I personally would rather send a friend a private message than have a wall to wall chat. I think its almost rude to be having a public conversation like that. When one talks privately on AIM, the conversation isn’t plastered all over a thousand people’s homepages. It doesn’t make sense for these messages between friends to be so very, very public. Not only are these messages easily accessible on your homepage, but they are also randomly posted on your friends homepages. Why is this? If I wanted someone else to know what I wrote to so and so, I would have sent it to them as well!

3 Responses to “Wall to Wall Maddness”

  1. Notelrac said

    I don’t see the point of having my life be public. What’s the point? Why should other people care? I just find the whole idea a little sketchy. I personally would rather send a friend a private message.

  2. donata426 said

    I don’t get it either. That’s why I usually use the in-box message feature. It’s private; no one needs to know my personal conversations.

    I don’t know. When I write on someone’s wall, it’s usually something quick and stupid like “hi. i’m 0n y0ur w411 lol”. Pointless Internet humor. Not the drama scope of the semester.

    It’s like Twitter. People think their lives are so damn interesting.

    • thebeerphilosopher said

      You mean my life’s NOT interesting? I’m going to go cry in a corner.

      …and tweet about it.

Leave a Reply

