“You’re My Best Friend”

April 30, 2009

Queen’s song “You’re My Best Friend”.

I was talking to my best friend on AIM a couple of weeks ago, and he told me that this song reminded him of us. Now, when he first said this to me, my immediate response was “you are such a sap, dude”. Then, because I hadn’t heard it in quite some time, and felt the need for a refresher, I perused my iTunes, and found the sucker.

I hate it when he’s right.

I’d never really given the song consideration any consideration before that point. It was always this cute little ditty by a fairly cool band playing in the background as dad would drive me and my siblings to get ice cream on a sweltering summer afternoon. But the moment after my best friend pin-pointed the “You’re My Best Friend” for me, I melted. It’s true, everything the song says is how I feel about him. Sure, it’s corny, it’s sappy, but it’s tried and true. He’s the best friend that I’ve ever had.

I have always been rather reserved in designating the term “best friend” to anyone. Actually, according to my own interpretation of what a best friend should be, I’ve never had one before sophomore year of college, i.e., last year. I’ve always had really, really good friends, but never a “best” friend. I’ve always been a bit weirded out by the fact that most people have no hesitation in calling people they’ve just met their “best friends”, or in today’s youth jargon, “besties” (ew).

A best friend should be like a comrade; you should be able to rely on that person for anything. A best friend should be like a sibling; you should feel as close a bond as possible. A best friend should be like a mentor; you should learn from this person.

You should feel love for this person, indefinitely. You should want this person, and even need this person.

Of course, this means that you should be all of these things to your best friend, too.

My definition of a best friend makes me, (and him, actually), laugh. This is how I define a best friend: it’s someone with whom you’ll feel comfortable enough to go out and buy a two-way walky-talky. Yup. This is how I honestly define what a best friend is.

I invite you to come up with your own definition of what a best friend should be. It’s fun.

3 Responses to ““You’re My Best Friend””

  1. Notelrac said

    Another bit of teenage jargon is “biffie”, standing for “BFF”, or “Best Friends Forever”.

Leave a Reply

